Rule confirmation

Recommended Videos

littlecrow

New member
Sep 14, 2009
24
0
0
well, its been forever since I played Magic the Gathering but I do tap when blocking.
 

L24z13L

New member
Jul 1, 2009
78
0
0
No you do not tap your creatures when blocking, but you can't block with a tapped creature.
 

Seldon2639

New member
Feb 21, 2008
1,756
0
0
Edit: Hmm... From what I can gather, there's a difference in result based on what era of rulebook.
 

ChaosReaver

New member
Sep 4, 2009
58
0
0
If a creature can tap to do an ability, you can do that when blocking (for example, "Tap creature to do 1 damage"). But you don't have to. You do not tap to block. And you can't block with a tapped creature. Attacking Creatures are tapped unless otherwise noted (for example if the creature has the Vigilance ability, or it says "this creature does not tap when attacking" for older versions of cards). A creature does not need to have Haste either to block on its first turn out. I've been playing MTG since 1995 so if you have questions send me a PM.

EDIT: reading the official 166 page pdf of the rules, there is no mention of being required to tap when blocking. here's the link, its on page 53 http://www.wizards.com/magic/comprules/MagicCompRules_20090904.pdf
 

zeroharpuia

New member
Mar 31, 2009
231
0
0
ChaosReaver said:
If a creature can tap to do an ability, you can do that when blocking (for example, "Tap creature to do 1 damage"). But you don't have to. You do not tap to block. And you can't block with a tapped creature. Attacking Creatures are tapped unless otherwise noted (for example if the creature has the Vigilance ability, or it says "this creature does not tap when attacking" for older versions of cards). A creature does not need to have Haste either to block on its first turn out. I've been playing MTG since 1995 so if you have questions send me a PM.
Ok that sounds official enough.

I was playing with my friend and he used a card that untapped his creatures and gave him an extra attacking phase but he told me that my creatures tap when they block. Then I countered with: 'No they only tap when they attack or use certain abillities'. So this clears up things nicely.

I'm gonna start another thread about a different rule confirmation.